Skip to content

Screen Printing Assignment

February 23, 2011

ASSIGNMENT
Create a four color screen print on the theme of “Light”.

Below is an overview of the screen printing process:

  • Step 1. Sketch a 6×8 design on paper
  • Step 2.  Using india ink or a black sharpie draw 4 films by tracing the sketch on clear acetate.  Each stencil represents a color.
  • Step 3. Coat screen with light sensitive emulsion.  Let dry 24 hours
  • Step 4. Tape all 4 films to screen and expose with a projector for about 3 minutes.  Light will harden the emulsion that is not blocked by the black stencils.
  • Step 5. Rinse out the stencil areas with a pressurized hose then let the screen dry completely.
  • Step 6. Use pin registration to line up your paper.
  • Step 7. Prepare to print!  Tape a mask of newsprint paper to block out the stencils you are not printing so only the first stencil will be open mesh.
  • Step 8. Put a line of ink on the screen parallel to your first image.  Lift the screen and pull ink using a rubber squeegee to coat the stencil.
  • Step 9. Put the screen down and pull the squeegee over your stencil pressing the ink you just coated the stencil with onto the paper. Repeat this process until you’ve created your set number for your edition.  I made 25.
  • Step 10. Clean your screen then repeat step 7 – 9 with the next stencil and color.

SUBJECT MATTER
For the theme of “Light” my screen print will include 5 or 6 paper lanterns hanging on a wire

CONTENT
Paper lanterns are symbols for festivals and parties, especially in Chinese culture.  For me, they symbolize happiness, joy, and playfulness.   By choosing to design paper lanterns I am celebrating my art making process.   I’ve always loved the thin transparent paper used to make paper lanterns which reminds me of Japanese rice paper, which reminds me of printmaking.  I also love how paper lanterns are constructed and that they are handmade.  For those associations, paper lanterns are creatively inspiring.   The work will be more emotional than intellectual; one of happy emotions.   My intention is to create a bright and cheerful image that people will experience as joyful, maybe even inspirational.

FORM
Form is a major part of my design.  The work is almost more about form and balance than any emotional or contextual content.   I knew I wanted to draw paper lanterns hanging on a wire and I did many sketches to get the balance and perspective just right.   The design includes a repetition of different sized ovals and circles connected by thin lines (the wire) – very simple shapes!   And I wanted the composition to be cropped like a photograph with some of the lanterns going off of the print area/page.

TECHNIQUE
I designed the screenprint to have 6 colors, even though I am only pulling 4 ink colors.  I’ll use transparent orange on yellow to create another shade of orange and I’ll leave some white space to create a sixth color.  I will also layer the different colors to create patterns and designs on the lanterns such as dots of purple on a yellow lantern.  Since there won’t be any shading with my screenprint design I will give my lanterns dimension by using curved lines (the wooden skeleton, so to speak) as the final color process.  The last color will serve as my “key”.  I will use it to register the other colors of my print.  

2 Comments leave one →
  1. February 24, 2011 11:39 pm

    I love how you talk about form being an essential element in this form of print making.

  2. linda permalink
    March 2, 2011 11:42 pm

    i love it!!! was that your first time for screen print? you are right, paper laterns are wonderful. your colors are a celebration. they make me want to throw a theme party–but not without your help!

Leave a comment